Stories

I love hearing stories. (I love reading them too). I’ve noticed over the past couple of months that highlights to my day/ week are always stories. Whether it was a story a taxi driver told me on a weekend trip away, a colleague at work, or someone who leaned over to chat while waiting in a line-up – I find inspiration in learning bits & pieces of a persons’ life. Hopefully reflection upon some of those stories will wind up being posted here. One day.

Annually I normally post about the books I’ve read in the past year; well 2012 didn’t offer up many “must-read” recommendations. So I’ve been inspired by my friend & former colleague Greg to post something a little different. I worked with Greg in Lusaka. He is my friend ‘back home’ who keeps me in the loop of many different aspects of life in Zed: family, comings & goings in the office we once shared, politics, International Ā development, and quite often…books. He shared with me a link of someone who is trying to read her way around the world. Being the logical person that I am I have started at the ‘top’: Afghanistan. I brought a list of titles to the library & collected the first one that was available. My first ever graphic novel (so I had a chat with one of my girlfriends who told me she was reading a graphic novel. I said what the heck does that mean? Her response: it’s a glorified term for comic book). Ha! I have since completed the graphic novel & thought it was quite the experience. Thanks to Greg for sending me a new way of reading through 2013 & for the continued friendship.

Let me know what you think of the idea of ‘reading around the world’.

 

Leave a Reply

